The Gupta Award was instituted by Gupta Foundation in 1989 and it was awarded to the following persons :


»1989 : Dr. Puttaparti Narayana Charyulu

1989 : Dr. Puttaparti Narayana Charyulu

The Award was given in the field of literature to "Saraswati Putra" Dr. Puttaparti Narayana Charyulu, an extra-ordinary scholar in Telugu Literature and a great poet in 14 languages. He also received the Padma Vibhushan from the President of India and many more Awards and titles from various academic institutions and organizations.

»1990 : Smt. M.S. Subbulakshmi

1990 : Smt. M.S. Subbulakshmi

The Award was given in the field of music to Sangeeta Kalanidhi Smt. M.S.Subbulakshmi the nightingale of Indian Classical Music who through her melodious voice filled with dedication and devotion transforms listeners into a different world of bliss.

»1991 : Dr. Padma Subrahmanyam

1991 : Dr. Padma Subrahmanyam

The Award was given in the filed of dance to Dr. Padma Subrahmanyam, who is a rare combination of an active dancer, research scholar, composer, choreographer, teacher, author and indologist.

»1992 : Sri Ramadrishna Mission

1992 : Sri Ramadrishna Mission

The Award was given to the field of social service. The great institutions Sri RamaKrishna Mission and Sri Ramakrishna Math which have been doing yeomen service for the past several decades and serving the people irrespective of caste or religion and working for the upliftment of the downtrodden and also for the propogation of Hindu Dharma as enunciated by Sri Ramadrishna Paramahamsa and Swamy Vivekananda.

No less a person than Swami Ranganatha Nanda himself, who heads the Mission at Hyderabad gave his benedictory message on the occasion.

»1993 : Dr. Sripada Pinakapani, Dr. Arudra

1993 : Dr. Sripada Pinakapani, Dr. Arudra

The Award for the year was given to eminent research scholar, Sangeetha Kalanidhi, Padma Bhushan Dr. Sripada Pinakapani, an eminent musician and musicologist and Kalaprapurna Dr. Arudra, who wrote the 13 volume ‘Samagra Andhra Sahityam’ working on it for 20 years.

»1994 : Dr. S.R. Rao

1994 : Dr. S.R. Rao

The Award was given in the field of Archology. Dr. S.R. Rao the world famous marine Archaeologist, who explored and discovered several Harappan, late Harappan and post Harappan civilizations including the one of Lothal and who brought to light the submerged city of Dwaraka of Lord Krishna was honoured with the Award.

»1995 : Dr. S.S. Badrinath

1995 : Dr. S.S. Badrinath

The Award for the year was given to Dr. S.S. Badrinath, the renowned Ophthalmologist and pioneer in Vitreoretinal Surgery, who heads the non-commercial, non-profitable Charitable medical organization “Sankara Netralaya” Madars, in the field of Medicine.

»1996 : Dr. M.S. Swaminathan

1996 : Dr. M.S. Swaminathan

The Award for the year was given in the field of science to the father of Inida’s Green Revolution and a living legend and world Scientist of rare distinction, Dr. M.S. Swaminathan.

»1997 : Smt. Janaky Athi Nahappan

1997 : Smt. Janaky Athi Nahappan

This year being the International year of women as also India’s Golden Jubilee year of Independence and Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose’s birth centenary year, the Award was given to Smt. Janaky Athi Nahappan a woman freedom fighter, who with refle in hand fought for India’s Independence as the Captain of the Rani of Jhansi Regiment of the Indian National Army under the leadership of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose.

»1998 : Sri Kapil Dev

1998 : Sri Kapil Dev

The Award for this year was given in the field of Sports to Sri Kapil Dev for his out – standing contribution to the game of Cricket.

»1999 : Bapu and Venkata Ramana

1999 : Bapu and Venkata Ramana

The Award for this year was given in the field of Arts and Literature to Bapu and Venkata Ramana for their outstanding contribution to the Cine Field.

»2000 : Dr. Ustad Bismillah Khan Saheb

2000 : Dr. Ustad Bismillah Khan Saheb

The Award for this year was given to Shannai Maestro Padma Vibhushan Dr. Ustad Bismillah Khan Saheb for his contribution to the field of music.

Pages: 1   2   Next »

Contact Us

Phone : +91-44-26691717/ 26691637

Fax :+91-44-26690079